City Museum of Kadaň
The Society of Friends of the Museum of Kadaň was founded in 1903 when the city museum was also founded as a city allowance organization. It held exhibitions in the premises of the parish school, gradually expanding to the Rosary Chapel and House No. 115 at the square. After World War II, the museum was run by the people’s committee and from 1960 it functioned as the District Museum of Homeland Studies. After the people’s committees were cancelled, the buildings at the square gradually became unsuitable for exhibition purposes of the city museum and the exhibits were relocated to the castle building in 1973 to be stored there. The city museum was abolished in 1975 and the collections were transferred to the District Museum of Chomutov.
The City Museum of Kadaň was re-established in 1999 when the mineralogy exhibition was opened in the basement of the Franciscan Monastery. In 2004, the Life in the Monastery exhibition was inaugurated, covering the major part of the medieval monastery including the church. In the following year, the museum opened an exhibition dedicated to the history of the city, being situated in the dormitory cells. Later, the City Museum started to manage new exhibitions in the Kadaň Castle, in the medieval bastion and in the town hall. The visitors can see six museum exhibitions in Kadaň at present.